Planning Department

The Planning Department leads strategic planning and technical research for Chemung County. The Planning Department's mission is to support local communities, strengthen the economic vitality of the County, protect natural resources, and enhance the quality of life for all.


The Department provides the following primary services:


  • Land use planning 
  • Transportation and infrastructure planning
  • Economic and community development 
  • Community outreach and engagement
  • Data analysis and dissemination
  • Resilience and sustainability planning
  • Grant funding support 
  • Emergency management planning
  • Intergovernmental coordination
  • Public transit system oversight



Chemung County Planning Board

 The Chemung County Planning Board reviews land use and planning matters that are referred by local municipalities. Chemung County established the Chemung County Planning Board (CCPB) in 1957 to perform the various duties and responsibilities of a "county, metropolitan, or regional planning board" as defined in Article 12-B of the New York State General Municipal Law. Section 239-m of this law requires that certain local zoning decisions that might potentially affect countywide or intercommunity interests be submitted to the CCPB for review and comment prior to final action by the local decision body. When reviewing projects, the planning board considers impacts for the benefit of the community as a whole, and not for the benefit of a particular property owner or developer.

Municipal zoning bodies are prohibited from taking actions that conflict with the CCPB's recommendations except upon the adoption of a resolution by a majority-plus-one vote of the local body's full membership setting forth the reasons for such action.

Planning Board Referral Form:

Go to Planning Board Referral Form

Planning Board Members:

Henry Dalrymple, Chair

Mark Watts

Scott Shaw

Robert Lewis

Liane O’Brien

Joseph Coletta

Elisabeth Corveleyn

Andrew Avery, Ex-officio


Go to Planning Board Member Application
Go to Meeting Agendas and Minutes
View 2022 Meeting Schedule 

Empty heading

Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council

The Chemung County Planning Department hosts the local Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council (ECTC).  As the MPO, ECTC is responsible for the planning and programming of all major transportation projects. ECTC also engages in detailed transportation planning and programming in order to qualify various local projects for federal and state funding.


Go to Meeting Agendas and Minutes

Environmental Management Council & Climate Smart Communities Task Force

The Chemung County Planning Department is advised by the Environmental Management Council (EMC). The Chemung County Environmental Management Council (EMC) is a voluntary advisory board appointed by the county government. Its mission is to advise county government and to provide a liaison between the community and county government. The EMC also serves as the New York State Climate Smart Communities Task Force for Chemung County.


Go to Chemung County Climate Smart Communities page

Go to Cornell Cooperative Extension EMC page

Go to the Chemung County Community Greenhouse Gas Inventory Report

Transit Board

The Chemung County Planning Department and ECTC provide staff support to the Transit Board and oversight of the First Transit agreement for the day-to-day operations and management of the CTRAN bus system as well as the Transportation Center in Elmira, NY.


Go to CTRAN website
Go to Meeting Agendas and Minutes


Planning Department Staff

  • Kevin J. Meindl  - Commissioner of Planning and Director of ECTC
  • Nan Moss - Secretary
  • Dr. Tanya McGee, PhD - Grants Manager
  • Michael Perry - Deputy Director of ECTC
  • Kristin Griffiths - Deputy Director of Emergency Management
  • Courtney Taylor - Transportation GIS Analyst

The Planning Department is accepting applications for several potential positions anticipated in the near future, please contact for more information.

  • Associate Planner 
  • Transit Manager
  • GIS Administrator