Transportation Council

\Empty heading

ECTC banner(1)


In December 1974, the Governor of New York designated the Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council (ECTC) as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for the Elmira Urbanized Area. MPOs serve urbanized areas with a population of 50,000 or more. The MPO's mission is to help build regional agreement on transportation investments and to balance highway, mass transit, and other needs, leading to equitable and cost-effective transportation outcomes. ECTC is responsible for the planning and programming of any transportation project that includes Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) or Federal Transit Administration (FTA) funding.
Empty headingEmpty head

Central Staff

Kevin Meindl


Michael Perry

Deputy Director

Courtney Dunn

Transit Manager

Liv Lovejoy

Transit Specialist

Courtney Taylor

GIS Transportation Analyst

  1. Unified Planning Work Program
  2. Long Range Transportation Plan
  3. Transportation Improvement Program
  4. Regional Intelligent Transportation Systems
  5. Transportation-related Resources

The Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) describes planning work proposed for the Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council for the year. 

ECTC has finalized its UPWP - more commonly known as the annual work program - for April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2024. The full document is available here.

If you have comments or questions, please call 607-737-5510, email, or write directly to ECTC.

Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council

400 East Church Street

Elmira, NY 14901

ECTC Policy Committee

  • Christopher Moss, Chemung County Executive, Chair
  • Robert Sweet, Empire State Development 
  • Brian Kelly, Regional Director, New York State Department of Transportation, Region 6
  • Rodney Strange, Chemung County Legislature
  • Daniel Mandell, Mayor, City of Elmira
  • Chelsea Robertson, Southern Tier Central Regional Planning and Development Board

ECTC Planning Committee

  • Andrew Avery, Public Works Commissioner, Chemung County/City of Elmira, Chair
  • Kevin Meindl, Commissioner of Planning, Director of ECTC and CTRAN
  • Adam Moore, General Manager, CTRAN (TransDev)
  • Robert Sweet, Empire State Development 
  • Carl Martel, Department of Public Works, Chemung County/City of Elmira 
  • Chelsea Robertson, Executive Director, Southern Tier Central Regional Planning and Development Board 
  • Todd Stauring, Acting Regional Planning and Program Manager, New York State Department of Transportation, Region 6

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

The next ECTC Policy Committee meeting is scheduled for December 14th, 2023 at 1 pm. The meeting agenda,  draft resolutions, and draft meeting minutes are available one week prior.

To attend the meeting remotely with an internet connection use the link: December 14 Planning Webex Meeting

Latest Minutes, Agenda, and Resolutions:

December 14th Policy Committee Meeting Agenda

September 28th Policy Committee Meeting Minutes

December 14th Policy Committee Resolutions

Previous Resolutions & Minutes