Annual Way Award

The Commission Way Award is named for the second Executive Director of the Commission on Human Relations, Ernest Hemingway, Jr. Mr. Hemingway held the position for over 19 years between 1972 and 1991. The Commission has awarded this recognition since 1997 to honor those persons, employers, or volunteer groups that have contributed substantially to promoting diverse social, cultural, and ethnic perspectives that enrich and expand understanding among all citizens in Chemung County.

Categories for Awards

There are three categories of awards: Organization, Individual Adult, and Individual Youth. The Awards are given annually at the Human Relations Commission Breakfast, held on Thursday, February 9th, 2023.