Civil Service Commission

Meetings

  • 3 pm
  • Hazlett Building
    203 Lake Street
    Elmira, NY

2021 Meeting Schedule

  • Tuesday, January 4, 2022
  • Tuesday, February 1, 2022
  • Tuesday, March 1, 2022
  • Tuesday, April 5, 2022
  • Tuesday, May 3, 2022
  • Tuesday, June 7, 2022
  • Tuesday, July 5, 2022
  • Tuesday, August 2, 2022
  • Tuesday, September 6, 2022
  • Tuesday, October 4, 2022
  • Tuesday, November 1, 2022
  • Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Members

  • G. Thomas Tranter, Chairman
  • Jeffrey Walker, Secretary
  • Thomas Gough
  • Ernest Hartman

Board Overview

The Chemung County/City of Elmira Regional Civil Service Commission serves as the Civil Service agency for most divisions of government in Chemung County. The Regional Commission and its staff provide employment opportunities to residents of Chemung County and frequent opportunities to residents of its contiguous counties of Schuyler, Tioga, Tompkins, and Steuben. Many positions may only be filled on a permanent basis following a competitive examination. All County and City departments, Towns, Villages, School Districts, and Special Districts within Chemung County fall under the jurisdiction of the Regional Civil Service Commission.

The Commission is statutorily required to provide an orderly and uniform system for the administration of civil service in Chemung County on a basis of merit and fitness as provided in the Civil Service Law of the State of New York and the Rules for the Classified Service of the Chemung County/City of Elmira Regional Civil Service Commission.