Font Size Print

Annual Way Award

The Commission Way Award is named for the second Executive Director of the Commission on Human Relations, Ernest Hemingway, Jr.  Mr. Hemingway held the position for over 19 years between 1972 and 1991.

This recognition has been awarded by the Commission since 1997 to honor those persons, employers or volunteer groups that have made a substantial contribution to promoting diverse social, cultural and ethnic perspectives that enrich and expand understanding among all citizens in Chemung County.

There are three categories of award: Organization, Individual Adult and Individual Youth.

The Awards are given annually at the Human Relations Commission Breakfast which is held in the fall.

Welcome To

Chemung County

"It gives me great pleasure to welcome you to, the virtual entrance to various programs and services available through Chemung County government. This site was designed to provide you with “user-friendly” access to a variety of links to different offices and organizations that are involved with tourism, economic and community development, transportation, health and social services.Thank you for visiting!"

Chemung County
203 Lake Street
Elmira, NY 14901

County Executive Christopher Moss