Font Size Print

Chemung County Planning Board

Chemung County established the Chemung County Planning Board (CCPB) in 1957 to perform the various duties and responsibilities of a “county, metropolitan, or regional planning board” as defined in Article 12-B of the New York State General Municipal Law. Section 239-m of this law requires that certain local zoning decisions that might potentially affect countywide or intercommunity interests be submitted to the CCPB for review and comment prior to final action by the local decision body. Municipal zoning bodies are prohibited from taking actions that conflict with the CCPB’s recommendations except upon the adoption of a resolution by a majority-plus-one vote of the local body’s full membership setting forth the reasons for such action.

The County Planning Board consists of nine members that the County Executive appoints and the Chemung County Legislature confirms. The Board’s membership is as follows:


The Board normally meets at 3:00 pm on the fourth Thursday of each month at the Chemung County Commerce Center, 400 East Church Street, Elmira, NY. On-street parking is available to the public. The Board’s meeting site is ADA-accessible.

CCBP Referral Form (Online and Recommended)
CCPB Referral Form (.pdf)
2019 CCPB meeting schedule
2020 CCPB meeting schedule
2021 CCPB meeting schedule
Click here to view meeting materials.